OK City's McMurtray is
ComSubGru 2 Sea Sailor of the Year

McMurtray award

Rear Adm. Cecil Haney shakes hands with MM1(SS) Michael A. McMurtray from USS Oklahoma City (SSN 723). McMurtray is ComSubGru Two's Sea Sailor of the Year. The USS Oklahoma City Association congratulates Petty Officer McMurtray for this award and wishes him well in the upcoming Sailor of the Year competition. (Photo by John Narewski)


RMCM Paul Dillon USN (Ret), Secretary of the USS Oklahoma City Association, congratulates MM1(SS) Michael McMurtray on his selection as the Commander Submarine Group Two's Senior Sailor of the year for 2008.

McMurtray, who is stationed aboard the USS Oklahoma City SSN723, was the runner-up as ComSubFor Atlantic's Sailor of the year. Dillon presented him with a check from the Association in the amount of $100.00.

On the far left is the Oklahoma City's Chief of the Boat ETCM (SS) Eric Gilkerson and on the right is Commanding officer CDR Ed Mayer.